^
INEI

Espresso Italiano Champion 2018

Espresso Italiano Champion is the barista competition organized by the Italian Espresso National Institute (Inei). In eleven minutes the competitors have to dial in the grinding and prepare four Italian espressos and four Italian cappuccinos. Two technical judges evaluate their perfomance and four sensory judges from the International Institute of Coffee Tasters (Iiac) blindly assess the quality of the espressos and of the cappuccinos.
  
Calendar of the preliminary rounds in 2018 (constantly updated)
 
10/11/17 - BULGARIA
Enco Vending, Sofia
Info: Hristina Kuncheva, tel. +359 070017770, hkuncheva@enco-vending.com

21/01/18 - ITALY
Mokador c/o SIGEP Rimini Fiera
Info: Alessandro Piscaglia, tel. +39
0546 22422, alessandro.piscaglia@mokador.it

30/01/18 - GERMANY

Cologne Coffee Forum c/o Ism, Koelnmesse, Colonia
Info: Carlo Odello, tel. +39 030 397308, carlo.odello@assaggiatori.com

07/02/18 - ITALY
Jolly Caffè, Grassina (FI)
Info: Stefano Belardinelli, tel. +39 055 645588,
posta@jollycaffe.it

17/03/18 - ITALY
La Genovese c/o Salone Agroalimentare Ligure – Finale Ligure (SV)
Info: Alessandro Borea, tel. +39 0182 50452,
a.borea@lagenovese.it 

27/03/18 – ITALY
G.I.Fi.Ze (Filicori Zecchini), Osteria Grande (BO)
Info: Filippo Spimi, tel. +39 051 945057, filippo.spimi@gifize.it 


29/03/18 – ITALY
Fiorenzato MC c/o Uba360, Mestre (VE)
Info: Daniele Salvatori, tel. +39 338 7611762,
info@uba360.it


09/04/18 – ITALY
G.I.Fi.Ze (Filicori Zecchini), Osteria Grande (BO)
Info: Filippo Spimi, tel. +39 051 945057, filippo.spimi@gifize.it 


10/04/18 - ITALY
Torrefazione San Salvador, Villa di Tirano (SO)
Info: Pietro Biancotti, tel. +39 0342 795066,
pbiancotti@caffesansalvador.com


12/04/18 - ITALY

Wega Macchine per Caffè, Susegana (TV)

Info: Cinzia Pietrobon, tel. +39 0438 1799700, cinzia.pietrobon@wega.it  

14/04/18 - ITALY
Costadoro, Torino (TO)

Info: Fabio Verona, tel. +39 011 2483804, fabio.verona@costadoro.it

15/04/18 - ITALY
Vibiemme, c/o Agust, Brescia (BS)
Info: Daniele Ricci, tel. +39 02 66016691, daniele.ricci@vbmespresso.com


16/04/18 – ITALY
G.I.Fi.Ze (Filicori Zecchini), Varese (VA)
Info: Filippo Spimi, tel. +39 051 945057, filippo.spimi@gifize.it 


18/04/18 - ITALY

Astoria MC, Susegana (TV)

Info: Sarah Peserico, tel. +39 0438 6615, speserico@astoria.com


20/04/18 - ITALY
Altogusto, Monastir (CA)
Info: Piero Carlo Bisio, tel. +39 079 262620,
piercarlo.bisio@altogustospa.com


27/04/18 - ITALY (FINAL)
Vibiemme, Cinisello Balsamo (MI)

Info: Daniele Ricci, tel. +39 02 66016691, daniele.ricci@vbmespresso.com  

03/05/18 – ITALY
Torrefazione Saturno, Alessandria (AL)
Info: Fausto Devoto, tel. +39 0131 341351,
devotofausto@gmail.com


04/05/18 – ITALY (FINAL)

G.I.Fi.Ze (Filicori Zecchini), Osteria Grande (BO)
Info: Filippo Spimi, tel. +39 051 945057, filippo.spimi@gifize.it  

16/05/18 – ITALY
Ada (Caffè Mokarico), Borgo San Lorenzo (FI)
Info: Claudia Salvatici, tel. +39 055 8495085,
claudiasalvatici@mokarico.com


18/05/18 – ITALY
Milani, Lipomo (CO)
Info: Ambrogio Bernasconi, tel. +39 031 280778,
bernasconi@caffemilani.it


17/05/18 – ITALY

Essse Caffè, Cadriano (BO)
Info: Barbara Chiassai, tel. +39 051 6425711, barbara.chiassai@esssecaffe.it

20/05/18 – ITALY
Dersut, Conegliano (TV)
Info: Daniele Bitto, tel. +39 0438 411200,
daniele.dersut@gmail.com


22/05/18 - TAIWAN
Iiac Taiwan, Kaohsiung
Info: Scott Cheng, tel. +886-2-2278-9928, scottcheng@globaleyesbiz.com


23/05/18 – ITALY

Torrefazione Paranà, Roma (RM)
Info: Stefano Mirimich, tel. +39 06 55389505,
s.mirimich@caffeparana.it


29/05/18 - TAIWAN
Iiac Taiwan, Taipei
Info: Scott Cheng, tel. +886-2-2278-9928, scottcheng@globaleyesbiz.com


01/06/18 - KOREA

Iiac Korea, Ansan (Korea Hotel & Tourism Technical College)
Info: Lee Yong Jun, tel. +82-2-423-1272, jun1107.lee@gmail.com


10/06/18 - KOREA
Iiac Korea, Incheon (Incheon Songdo Specialty Coffee Academy)
Info: Lee Yong Jun, tel. +82-2-423-1272, jun1107.lee@gmail.com


16/06/18 - KOREA
Iiac Korea, Seoul (Korea Cooking Art Academy)
Info: Lee Yong Jun, tel. +82-2-423-1272, jun1107.lee@gmail.com


17/06/18 - KOREA
Iiac Korea, Seoul (Korea Cooking Art Academy)
Info: Lee Yong Jun, tel. +82-2-423-1272, jun1107.lee@gmail.com


20/06/18 - KOREA
Iiac Korea, Anyang (Daelim University College)
Info: Lee Yong Jun, tel. +82-2-423-1272, jun1107.lee@gmail.com


24/06/18 - KOREA
Iiac Korea, Seongnam (Coffee Bang-A)
Info: Lee Yong Jun, tel. +82-2-423-1272, jun1107.lee@gmail.com


30/06/18 - KOREA
Iiac Korea, Daegu (Jang Coffee Lab)
Info: Lee Yong Jun, tel. +82-2-423-1272, jun1107.lee@gmail.com


07-08/07/18 – THAILAND
(FINAL)
Aroma Thailand, Bangkok
Info: Chattakarn Wannakool, tel. +66 2159 8999, chattakarnw@aromathailand.com


31/07/18 – CHINA

Iiac China, Guangzhou
Info: Kelly Chan, tel. +86 20 3637 8856, kelly.chy@qq.com


13/08/18 – TAIWAN
(FINAL)
Iiac Taiwan, Taipei
Info: Scott Cheng, tel. +886-2-2278-9928, scottcheng@globaleyesbiz.com

16/08/18 - KOREA (FINAL)
Iiac Korea, Seoul
Info: Lee Yong Jun, tel. +82-2-423-1272, jun1107.lee@gmail.com



A Short Trip In The Italian Espresso

Espresso Italiano Champion 2017

Espresso Italiano Champion 2016

Espresso Italiano Champion 2015

Espresso Italiano Champion 2014

The Certified Italian Espresso

On sight, a Certified Italian Espresso has a hazel-brown to dark - brown foam – characterised by tawny reflexes – with a very fine texture (absence of large mesh and larger or smaller bubbles). The nose reveals an intense scent with notes of flowers, fruits, toasted bread and chocolate. All of these sensations are felt also after swallowing the coffee in the long lasting aroma that remains for several seconds, sometimes even for minutes. Its taste in round, substantial and velvet-like. Sour and bitter tastes are well balanced and neither one prevails over the other. There is no, or a barely perceptible, astringent taste.